Call for Entries

It’s time to get your submissions ready for the 2018 Edward L. Bernays Mark of Excellence Awards Program! Let your work shine by winning one or more Bernays awards!  Entries for Silver and Bronze Bernays Awards are now open! Download the 2018 Edward L. Bernays Call for Entries

2018 Deadlines

Deadline: Friday, July 27, 2018; 5 p.m.

Late Deadline: Friday, Aug. 3, 2018; 5 p.m. + $50 late fee per entry

Last-Minute Deadline: Friday, Aug. 10, 2018; 5 p.m. + $90 late fee per entry

Final Deadline: Friday, Aug. 17, 2018; 5 p.m. + $115 late fee per entry


Entry fees are as follows:

  • $90/PRSA member
  • $105/non-member
  • $20/PRSSA member (student project category only)
  • $75/nonprofit organization
  • $50/late fee applied to entries received between July 27, 2018 at 5:01 p.m. and Aug. 3, 2018 at 5 p.m.
  • $90/last-minute fee applied to entries received between Aug. 3, 2018 at 5:01 p.m. and Aug. 10, 2018 at 5 p.m
  • $115/final late fee applied to entries received between Aug. 10 at 5:01 p.m. and Aug. 17, 2018 at 5 p.m.

Payments are made online when entries are submitted, and PRSA SD/IC accepts Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover.

Online submission is required for ALL entries!

The Edward L. Bernays Mark of Excellence Awards recognizes the expertise and dedication of public relations professionals within San Diego and Imperial Counties. The Public Relations Society of America San Diego/Imperial Counties Chapter (PRSA SD/IC) presents the Silver and Bronze Bernays Awards annually to recognize public relations programs and tactics incorporating research, planning, creativity, implementation and evaluation.

Why Submit a Bernays Entry?

Receive recognition for the hard work put into your public relations campaigns and tactics by submitting a Bernays entry. As the public relations industry becomes more competitive, a Bernays award is an excellent way to distinguish yourself within this industry.

How to Submit Your Entry

This year, PRSA SD/IC is again implementing online submissions and judging using the same online platform as last year. We advise you to closely review the Submitting Your Entry section of the Call for Entries. Submit your entries here.

Judging Criteria

There are two types of Bernays – the Silver and the Bronze. All entries are judged by professional and distinguished members of a partner PRSA Chapter. The Silver award recognizes complete public relations programs incorporating research, planning, implementation and evaluation. The Bronze award recognizes public relations tactics, consisting of individual items or components of campaigns.


We have updated our scoring criteria this year to match what is being used by most PRSA Chapters across the nation. We hope this will create a more accurate and streamlined judging process. Bernays entries are now individually judged on a 100-point scale. For Silver Bernays, entries receive a score in each of the four categories – research (20 points), planning (30 points), implementation (30 points) and evaluation (20 points). For Bronze Bernays, entries are judged based on a 100-point scale in the following five categories – research (14 points), planning (30 points), implementation (30 points), creativity (15 points), and evaluation (11 points). We strongly encourage you to review our “Tips for Award-Winning Entries” in the Call for Entries and the scoring criteria sheets  to help guide you through the revised scoring criteria.

Special Awards

The Bernays also celebrate individuals and teams who have made a significant contribution to the public relations profession through Special Awards. Nominate fellow public relations professions for one of the five awards!

These entries are free to submit and will be emailed to Sarah Lemons. Please download the Call for Entries document to view the six award categories. The deadline for nominations has been extended through Friday, Aug. 31, 2018.

2018 Bernays Judging Committee + Late Fee Discount

Consider serving on the Bernays judging committee for the opportunity to receive a $50 discount towards one Bernays Award entry through the Aug. 17 deadline. A discount code will be provided for the OmniContest platform.

Our chapter will judge the PRSA Greater Cleveland Chapter’s Awards with judging taking place in October. All judging will be done electronically through the chapter’s online portal and can be done at your convenience. With the size of the PRSA Greater Cleveland Chapter, we are in great need of practitioners with at least five years of experience. Plus (shameless plug), we’re always in need of practitioners who hold the APR designation! If you would like to serve as a judge, please contact Sarah Lemons.